Date of Award


Degree Name

Master of Music



First Advisor

Worth, Douglas


Manuel Arenzana was the last chapel master of the Cathedral of Puebla from 1791 to 1821. Arenzana composed sacred music for the Cathedral of Mexico, as well as operas for the Coliseo Theater in Mexico City. Missa à 4 Compuesta a Grande Orquesta in D Major was composed for double choir and big orchestra, which included viola, clarinets and bassoon. This work is a scholarly edition of previously unedited manuscripts and it is collocated with two late copies located in Oaxaca. Also, the actas capitulares from the Cathedral of Puebla, during the period when Arenzana worked as chapel master (1791-1821), and the documents from the Archivo General de Indias revealed new biographic data, which is confronted with a review of the existing biography. Additionally, the music catalogue in New Spain is included with the repertoire of the archives of Cathedrals from Puebla, Morelia, and Oaxaca, two parishes, and the Basílica de Santa María de Guadalupe.




This thesis is only available for download to the SIUC community. Others should
contact the interlibrary loan department of your local library.